New! Book Your 2023 Activities online! Looking for a gift card? We have those too!

Mount Rushmore National Memorial

Bring your next family vacation to Mount Rushmore

Your vacation's landmark destination

The famous Mount Rushmore National Memorial features sculptures of the heads of four United States presidents: George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, Theodore Roosevelt, and Abraham Lincoln. Conceived by South Dakota historian Doane Robinson and sculptor Gutzon Borglum, construction on the memorial began in 1927 after securing federal funding through the help of Senator Peter Norbeck. Construction ended in 1941.

The site is also home to an Information Center and a number of exhibits and centers. The site is illuminated nightly. It is located northeast of Custer State Park off of Highway 244, just 30–45 minutes away via the Peter Norbeck Scenic Byway.

See it on the map